3D Printer Progress

Here’s a quick update on the 3D printer I’m building! As soon as the parts arrived I dug into the box and pulled everything out. I ordered a TON of hardware, all through ServoCity.com

2014-02-25 19.40.28

They event sent me some candy! I quickly consumed it as I progressed through the build.

Candy!

I can’t hype ServoCity enough. Even with how large my order was (parts list below), they shipped the next day, and the box arrived in less than a week. In fact, I just put it another order on Monday (I forgot some pieces for the printer) and it didn’t ship until today (Wednesday), but ServoCity upgraded me to Priority Shipping for free to make up for it. Much appreciated, I can not wait to get this printer frame done. Here’s a picture of the progress so far:

3D Printer

15′ x 18′ 3D Printer

Parts List (partial):

  • 15 inch Aluminum Channel x 6
  • 18 inch Aluminum Channel x 1
  • 18 inch length x 1 inch dia. Aluminum Tubing x 4
  • 24 inch length x 1 inch dia. Aluminum Tubing x 4
  • 1 inch Bore Tube Clamp A x 16
  • 1/4 inch x 12 inch Precision Shaft x 4
  • 1/4 inch x 8 inch Precision Shaft x 2
  • 1/4 inch to 1/4 inch Set Screw Shaft Coupler x 3
  • 1/4 inch Shaft Clamp x 6
  • .250 inch ID x .500 inch OD Flanged Ball Bearing x 28
  • 1/4 inch Bore Pinion Pulley 16T x 14
  • 1/4 inch x 2 inch Precision Shaft x 8
  • 1/4 inch Collar x 16
  • Channel Slider A (pair) x 6
  • Dual Screw plate (pair) x 6
  • 6-32 x 5/16 inch Socket Head Machine Cap Screw x 156
  • 6-32 x 1/4 inch Socket Head Machine Cap Screw x 12
  • XL Belt Mount A x 7
  • Aluminum Hub Spacer (1/4 inch think) x 7
  • 90 Degree Quad Hub Mount B x 18
  • Timing Belt (22 feet)
I'm an Electrical Engineer with a passion for software, drumming, video games, and spicy peppers.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Hardware Projects, Uncategorized
8 comments on “3D Printer Progress
  1. alexrawfootage says:

    That is very cool

  2. Larry says:

    Any more information!

    • Corey Shuman says:

      Yes! I had a ton of new parts come in, including my stepper motors and mounts. However, I’ve been working as a consultant for the last few weeks, which has completely eaten up my free time. I hope to work on this project again in June.

  3. Larry says:

    Do you think you will have plans for sale?

    • Corey Shuman says:

      I don’t think I’ll be selling. I won’t have the time or resources to build more than one of these. But I will keep posting updates as I have time, including full part lists and code.

  4. Larry says:

    Any thing yet?

  5. Larry says:

    What happen to the printer?

    • Corey Shuman says:

      Your timing is impeccable. I just received electronics for the printer today. I ordered the RAMPS 1.4 control board and Arduino Mega 2560. I’ve been borrowing a friend’s 3D printer for the last few months to become familiar with the hardware and software. I hope to bring that experience to this 3D printer build. My schedule is packed through Christmas, so I plan to work on this again in January.

Leave a Reply

Corey Shuman

Corey Shuman

I'm an Electrical Engineer with a passion for software, drumming, video games, and spicy peppers.

View Full Profile →

Quick Links
Click the Icons below to visit my other online accounts:
